Rowing In the Rain

Earlier this week I made plans to go rowing and I was pretty excited to get out there except for this morning. With the rain coming and going and just being tired I was just about to pray that the rain would pour down and that the wind would pick up so that I would have a good excuse to get out of rowing. But when the weather held so I made my way to the boat launch and just hoped that it would be an alright time. Just Cheryl, my coach, and one other person showed up… probably because of the weather… which actually worked out well because Holly and I went out on a double and Cheryl took out her single. This was only my 5th time out on the water and now my second time in a double (which is apparently against club rules but I’ll go with it). A double is much less stable than a quad which I learned on; one mistake and the thing could go over. Anyway to cut to the chase I was so glad I got out on the water! I was finally able to correct three flaws in my technique (keeping my wrists flat, pulling in closer to complete the stroke and leaning forward when I’m going up the slide… if you were interested :D), we saw a shark in the water about 2 to 3 feet from the boat (hence the picture although I may have exaggerated just slightly), loads of jelly fish, and it rained which was pleasantly refreshing. I actually felt like I rowed today and I can’t wait to get out again on Tuesday. I have to get out as much as possible because the season is over at the end of October. Cheryl said she is going to video tape me at one point so I can see where I can improve, the video will definitely be posted here as soon as I get it. Have a great week all!

This entry was posted in Life in Courtenay and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rowing In the Rain

  1. Ash says:

    I am glad you weren’t eaten up by jaws and that you bit the bullet and went rowing even though you didn’t really want to in the first place. That is usually when you have the most fun!!! 🙂

  2. Mel says:

    i watched myth busters tonite about great whites sharks!!

    I’m glad you’re doing some new and amazing activities! You are very cool, MTG.

Leave a Reply

